Archive | 12:20 am

David Crausby – New World

1 Dec

New World

The idea for the project came to me in August 2013; standing on the balcony of my hotel at Jumeirah Beach Resort, I noticed graffiti on a wall which read: “New World Boredom”; With this in mind I started to photograph around Dubai.

The work has progressed and evolved on two subsequent visits to the UAE, with locations including, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah and Oman. In RAK in July and October 2014 I realized that the notion of ‘boredom’ was redundant and didn’t apply to the recent photographs. What I was now capturing had become an exploration into the vastness of social landscapes, rapid urban development and the traces of humanity discovered in such places.

I’m looking forward to escaping the Cumbrian Winter as the project continues with a fourth visit to the Emirates in February 2015. I love the light and the process of shooting images in such heat and isolation is arduous, liberating and uplifting in equal measure. To me these photographs suggest that there is hope in the incredible emptiness of it all.