Paul Turner

14 Apr

I live in Cheshire in the UK and have been interested in photography on and off for many years. I  bought a DSLR in early 2014, and started using it to take images other than family holiday pictures. I still consider myself new to photography and am always fascinated by the possibility of capturing glimpses of light. I am intrigued by the process of composition and its underlying complexity and subtlety.

 

It is often my aim to try and photograph the ordinary and everyday that is easily missed, overlooked or ignored by others and make it look different or unexpected just by the way it is framed or how the light or lack of light, affects mood. I suppose I am more interested in night photography because the transformation that takes place is so marked. It creates scenes that people see less and the way the camera sees at night can be slightly off kilter with our usual perception of places, hence the mood and atmospheric changes.

 

That is not to say that low light is the only type of photography I do as I like a variety of subject matter, and find the technical aspects fascinating too. It is often the case that I see other images and read about lens combinations and camera settings which influence the direction of my work. There is so much to learn and so much that affects the outcome of the final image.

 

I take a lot of inspiration from people that I follow on Flickr and try and learn from the way others work, I guess everyone does that … it is what photo sharing is and why it can be inspirational and affecting. I am happy to think that something in my work may spark an interest along someone else’s journey in photography.

 

You can see my photostream here;

 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/lenbaby/

4 Responses to “Paul Turner”

  1. Eric Garsonnin April 23, 2015 at 11:54 am #

    Great compositions, some with stories. Great control of light in all of them. I appreciate your work.

    • Paul April 24, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

      Thank you Eric.

  2. sedge808 April 24, 2015 at 2:42 am #

    ‘I take a lot of inspiration from people that I follow on Flickr and try and learn from the way others work.’

    me too.

    • Paul April 24, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

      Cheers Gavin 😉

Leave a Reply

