Ian Nutt “More News from Nowhere”

24 Dec

I’m Ian. I live just outside Leicester, UK and work ‘factory hours’, doing things far less interesting than making photographs. That means that at this time of year, I see very little daylight, so I’ve had to learn how to shoot at night and in very low light. I’ve learnt the way that secrets can be revealed (and hidden) by artificial light sources and the way that man manipulates his environment with light. I’ve also begun to see how a photographer can show the effects of this light in different ways, to tell ones own story.

These pictures form part of my nascent ‘More News From Nowhere‘ set that combines my taste for robust concrete architecture, shooting at night and the new (new) topographic work that I’m enjoying thoroughly at the moment. People like Jeff Brouws, Patrick Joust and Will Steacy combine these elements so well in the US (maybe less so the concrete) and I’d love to somehow create a UK version of the feeling that their work leaves the viewer with.
I’ve recently found (through Flickr) a night photography ‘scene’ in Australia that provides a similar aesthetic. The three countries look fundamentally different of course, but the simultaneous feelings of nostalgia and danger in the photographs, as well as their presentation of the mundane and everyday to us out of context, for us to consider at our leisure, are all thing that I aspire to do.

There are several contributors to the Urban Photo Publishing group who I find inspirational. Their photographs have helped me to define what it is that I’m trying to do with the pictures I make, especially Barry Falk’s (https://www.flickr.com/photos/51241173@N03/) ‘pissed in corners’ description. Finding other people that see the attraction of these spaces (and aren’t just producing ‘Crap Towns’ and HDRed abandoned buildings) has been a revelation.

It may be contentious, but I currently find more inspiration in work I see on Flickr than in many of the celebrated, classic photobooks. It can take some time to wade through the nonsense, but the joy of finding a photostream like Andy’s (https://www.flickr.com/photos/61249924@N06/), Ben’s (https://www.flickr.com/photos/benpatio/) or Andrew’s (https://www.flickr.com/photos/andrewdempsterphotography/) (there are many others) for me is more satisfying than, for example, The Americans – there, I said it!

It feels like I’ve made huge progress over the last year, mostly thanks to the other people out there that I’m learning from on a daily basis – and I’m loving every minute!

“With a painting, you’re taking basic building blocks and making something that’s more complex than what you started with. It is a synthetic process. A photograph does the opposite: It takes the world, and puts an order on it, simplifies it.” – Stephen Shore

5 Responses to “Ian Nutt “More News from Nowhere””

  1. sedge808 December 24, 2014 at 3:34 am #

    I love no. 4

  2. davidcrausby December 24, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    Great series and write-up. I particularly admire MNFN 2

  3. Barnaby Nutt December 24, 2014 at 12:07 pm #

    Reblogged this on yeahyeahyeahyeahyeah and commented:
    A blog post about me!

  4. Eric Garsonnin December 24, 2014 at 8:56 pm #

    Thanks for the text. I don’t see the Americans the same way you do; people did look like that then and no one from that era caught it quite like that book did. But you don’t show that kind of work here. You capture something difficult to catch, how built places look after people have been there and before people will be there, and you do it with little light and colour. Movement is implied here, as something coming around the corner in House Hunting or MNFN5. Like your work.

  5. johnking December 29, 2014 at 11:15 am #

    Excellent series, keep it going. I agree, there are lots of good photographers on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

