Phillip Wilkinson

9 May

When I was young, I used to help my parents with their business at a quiet industrial block in a regional city. During late afternoons on weekends when there was no one around, those walls would resonate with power. It used to ground me. They stand steadfast, impenetrable, supremely pragmatical as we humans blip about pretending, scrounging for meaning, dreaming of purpose.

I’ve come back to these places now as a photographer in my 30’s and it’s an alienating experience. I’m removed from the industrial realities of this (different, much larger) city. I don’t work at these warehouses and factories. I am a stranger, insignificant and lost, but I still find peace here. On a Sunday evening these places are strangely silent, perfect for meditation. There is nothing to think about other than arranging them through a viewfinder to depict their aura–their power–which I see as a challenge, or a game.

I always return from these shoots clear-minded and when I look at my photographs I see a yearning for simplicity and a celebration of play. I see 3D video games from the 1990’s; colourful, rudimentary worlds full of locked doors and dead ends. And it’s safe. It’s alright to be lost, to be human, to take your time. Who cares for the story? It’s all myth and nonsense anyway.

These are the first five of the images of the set, currently titled ‘You Are Here’. They’re not yet developed enough to speak for themselves, hence my post. The rest of the set is still to be made.Thanks for looking. 

3 Responses to “Phillip Wilkinson”

  1. Pavel P. May 9, 2014 at 6:27 am #

    Nice photos and article!

  2. sedge808 May 9, 2014 at 7:13 am #

    fab

Leave a Reply

