City Focus: Leuven by Dirk Christeaens

25 May
My name is Dirk Christeaens, I was born and raised and live in the historical city of Leuven. Leuven is a bustling student town as it is home to the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven which is the largest and oldest university of Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxemburg together, and it is home as well to the world’s largest brewery group. So, students and beers… I guess that combination doesn’t need any further explanation It is actually only very recently that I picked up photography, but once I did it seemed such an obvious choice as I have always been a person who very much likes to observe. I am also very much a city person, I love to roam the streets, feel the hustle and bustle of the city, and observe people going about their daily business. As such it was quite logical that I started out with “candid” street photography at first. For the past half year however my focus has been shifting more towards urban stills.There’s no big message behind my photos. I simply try to show the streets of my hometown the way they are. I thereby prefer places that to most passersby look rather uninteresting, uninspiring, banal, or too grimy to take notice. By working with composition, colors, contrasts, lines and shapes I try to reveal the beauty and poetry these places nevertheless contain.
 
Leave a Reply

