Laszlo Bilki

8 May

I have always been surrounded by cameras.

My father was a press photographer in Communist Hungary. As you can imagine, this proved to be tricky. My brother also is a very accomplished ‘tog. I remember as a small child using my dads Nikon F, which I have to this day. So it was inevitable that I loved photography from a very young age.

After a series of hand-me-downs, and point and shoots, I purchased a D200 and never looked back.

As far as my photographic style goes, I am yet to settle on a genre, but I love the soft light of night, and making something beautiful out of something that is not. The more I travel down this path, the less “generic beauty” appeals to me. Occasionally I still feed my soul with a beautiful vista, or the splashing of waves, but generally, give me a dirty alley or a minimalist urban scene any day. ”

13 Responses to “Laszlo Bilki”

  1. sedge808 May 8, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    How cool.
    I’m excited.

  2. sedge808 May 8, 2013 at 4:00 am #

    Reblogged this on Noir and commented:
    Laszlo Bilkic (fellow photographer in Adelaide)

  3. John Lamont May 8, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Nice work.

  4. mobius faith May 8, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    stunning images. I can’t wait to dig deeper. So cool.

  5. f1dot8 (@f1dot8) May 8, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Great selection Laszlo!

  6. Marie Noëlle Taine May 8, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Great ! I like especially the photo called Chep…

  7. Craig May 9, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    Couldn’t agree more – i too am increasingly attracted to the gritty, grimy urban scenes – my wife is not quite getting my affection for these types of photos, but there is something really beguiling about them. Great photos by the way laszlo – very nice.

  8. Ragnar Stefánsson May 13, 2013 at 7:06 am #

    Beautiful selection of great works. My absolute favorite is “Chep”.

  9. zeze57 May 21, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    well beauty is what is seen as beauty; it’s just an agreement with one’s culture, education or with one’s own findings …. What’s important and interesting for me in photography (and art in general) is the way one goes from one pic to another, how one trains one’s eye and perception in mind. The learning steps ….

    I enjoy the way you make use of space in these examples. I agree with Ragnar about “Chep” , although i recognize a bit of my eye in “Ikea Colour 2”. Photography has made me love the combi’s of grey and color.

  10. David Young June 13, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Superb images Laszlo, love your work, inspirational photography.

  11. 56323 jordan basketball shorts rnens August 6, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    Howdy! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up
    for the great info you might have here on this post. I shall be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

  12. Warren Dawson August 9, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    A big Like from me Mr bBilki, a real pleasure to peruse.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Laszlo Bilki | urbanphotomag | Hold a moment … - May 21, 2013

    […] via Laszlo Bilki | urbanphotomag. […]

Leave a Reply

