City Focus Poughkeepsie 2 – By Garry Velletri

11 Feb

These photographs were taken in November 2012. I was raised in Poughkeepsie and
remember Main St. when it was the hustling, bustling center of town. In the early
1960’s my mother would routinely drag me down there every August for school
clothes. When I was in high school I worked on Academy St right off of Main Street
at Teepee Dashery, a head shop that also sold hippie clothes and bootleg records. I
saw the movie 2001 at the Bardovan Theater with Timothy Leary sitting 2 rows in
front of me. By 1990, Main St. was becoming a ghost town. By the year 2000 it was
derelict. It’s struggling to come back. The artist Peter Max bought the old Luckey
Platt department store with the intention of turning it into artist lofts. I don’t know
if it can ever return to its former splendor. It’s really the same old story that’s been
told of Main Streets all across the US in the age of shopping malls. I’m currently
based in New York City where I take pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “City Focus Poughkeepsie 2 – By Garry Velletri”

  1. sedge808 February 12, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    Me LikE

  2. David F Lyon April 7, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    Funny, I grew up in Poughkeepsie too AND worked at Teepeedashery in the late 70’s

Leave a Reply

