5 Questions for Alan O’Riordan

14 Jun

1)How long have you been taking photos?

On and off since I was a young lad. I have a vague memory from my formative years that involves an orange golf ball, a putting green, a willing accomplice and me, flat out on the surface, fiddling with perspective.

But it was a sabbatical from work and a year in Melbourne in 2010/2011 that afforded me the luxury of turning it into a bit of an (unpaid) obsession.

2)Why do you take photos?

At the risk of using an old cliche, I love the thrill of spotting potential in a scene, shooting it (often many times at many different settings) and then bringing the best out of it with a little help from Lightroom. I’m not going to deny that I also like counting the Likes on Facebook and the Favourites on Flickr…

But I suspect that, in the longer term, I will look back and be very glad that I took so many shots, helping me to anchor my memories in a very visual way.

3) What’s your favourite camera?

Well it used to be my Samsung NX10, which I bought when I first arrived in Melbourne and promptly took around 10,000 shots with. I liked the electronic viewfinder with full data overlay, the fact that it previewed the image exposure based on the settings I’d chosen, and the fact that I could adjust settings such as metering without taking my eye from the viewfinder. There’s a lot to be said for CSCs at the budget end.

More recently, however, I decided to splash out on a Canon 5D Mk II and I have fallen madly in love with it after a fairly steep but short learning curve. In fact, I sold the Samsung NX10 only last week, as it’s been gathering dust for the past 3 months.

4) Favourite place to shoot?

That’s a tough one. Wherever light, shadow and people come together in a pleasing way. And the light was often very good in Melbourne. But London, where I’ve lived for the past 9 months, has its moments, and I’m having a lot of fun discovering it through the lens. The pictures I’ve chosen for this post are all taken in London and all feature light, shadow and at least one human being.

5) Favourite lens

This probably won’t be a popular answer, but my 24-105 L produces amazing quality and also gives me a little flex to play with. I’m spending more time with a 50mm or an 85mm prime attached to the body, though. It does make you think a little more about your composition. That said, the photos for this post come from a range of lenses, including the humble 18-55 kit lens for my Samsung.

One Response to “5 Questions for Alan O’Riordan”

  1. elzopi September 8, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    splendid work, alan

Leave a Reply

