Things I’ve learnt by S2art

27 May

Having worked with cameras and film now for more than 1/2 my life, I’ve seen my fair share of changes in photography.

The last 10 years or so have been very exciting, and I never would have thought that film would become an alternative process, as one of my friends recently pointed out. For several years though my focus was on digital output. In that time I’ve ridden that roller-coaster ride of digital.

I continue to juggle the two mediums, how successfully I’m not sure, but I feel satisfied about what I’m making.

I’ve watched communities grown and shrink, I’ve rediscovered my joy for film. In the process I’ve learnt to appreciate the time and effort involved in the ‘process’ of shooting film. I’ve also learned to appreciate the spontaneous nature of digital and following gut reactions.

The act of sifting though hard copy proofs instead of staring at a screen has proved to be a great benefit as well. My current body of work has been going on for many years since the late 1990’s. Now of course I have the luxury of using tools such as google to research and plan a shoot in advance the way I never could  have when I first started the project.

The result is a project called Bridge. Bridges are in ample supply despite Melbourne’s lack of waterways. They are both a metaphor and a symbol. This body will grow as I dip into my film archives and rediscover many images and continue to shoot more images.

Part of the series Bridge, which began in the mid 1990s

Flinders street bridge elegant and ageless.

Several bridges allude to the function of this urban environment.

3 Responses to “Things I’ve learnt by S2art”

  1. sedge808 May 28, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    All really good shots.

  2. Alexis Gerard May 28, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Really cool stuff Andrew, I look forward to seeing this develop

  3. Alan O'Riordan June 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Yes, let’s see some more:-)

Leave a Reply

