5 Questions for Andrew Steele

19 May

1) How long have you been taking photos?
Since I was very young and I used to be envious of my father who owned an old Pentax SLR. I was always intrigued in the whole process, from capturing the initial photos, taking them to the local shops to get them processed and then the excitement and anticipation of picking up the developed photos. In the old days of film cameras, you never knew whether or not the photo came out well… was it over-exposed? Did I read the light meter correctly…? Is it really in focus even though I’m looking through my glasses? This was all part of the process for me, but now we have digital SLRs where deleting a photo is just as quick and easy as taking one… but to me, the skill of the capture is really in knowing what to capture and when; and doing your best to plan for the event. That said, the best photos I’ve taken have usually been last minute, unorganised and based purely on luck.

2)Why do you take photos ? It’s my creative release outside of my 9 to 5. During the daylight hours, I’m an Architect at a large commercial architectural practice in Adelaide. As my day usually consists of managing projects to ensure they run smoothly, answering calls from disgruntled clients, frustrated builders and curious engineers, I look forward to spending time at home with my family then going out at night, on my own, in silence; discovering the many and varied locations around Adelaide that others would ordinarily take for granted, generally overlook and usually disregard daily. I’m attempting to bring the ‘Back of House’ areas – Front of House. Every space needs it’s 15 minutes of fame.

3)What’s your favourite camera? My favourite camera is my current camera – a Canon 60D. Before that, I bought my brother’s Canon 300D and prior to that, I only owned handheld compacts. One day, I’ll take the next step and get a full-frame (Canon 5D MkIII), but for now – the cropped sensor is doing me just fine.

4)Favourite location? Locations in and around Adelaide that aren’t considered ‘photographic opportunities’. The challenge in capturing those spaces most people walk past everyday and serving them up on a silver platter with a side serving of Lightroom 4 makes all the difference. I get a buzz when I hear someone say ‘Oh, hang on… is that the place just down the street from that restaurant we went to for your brother’s birthday?’ – followed by ‘Wow, I didn’t know it looked like that…!’ – is what makes me want to do it all again… and again.

5)Favourite lens? My trusty Canon 10-22mm… great for day or night, in around factories, construction sites, back alleys or carparks. You can’t take a bad photo with this bad boy!

4 Responses to “5 Questions for Andrew Steele”

  1. sedge808 May 20, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    so good to see you here.
    Congratulations. Fabulous photos.

  2. dbugatto May 22, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    Wonderful work , congrats.

  3. Alan O'Riordan June 14, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Love your “alternative” view of Adelaide. Great work.

  4. elzopi September 8, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    fantastic images, amazing light and colors

Leave a Reply

