City Focus : Sydney by Sean O’Brien

14 Apr
In sum, I am a self taught photographer with no formal education in this endeavour.
My main photographic interest lies in the street photography style. Having said that, I also respond to what the urban environment about Sydney has to offer and accordingly I will make an image, in response.
Overall I strive to capture the ‘what, how, if but or why, and possibly this, that or other. I try to have my images hug the moment, convey a message, meaning or emotion, or ideally convey a complete reaction I experienced the time I took the image.
I do my best to avoid images that are posed or cliche, and I rarely title an image. I subscribe to the view the image best speaks for itself: sometimes loudly, sometimes softly, and sometimes succinctly, or sometimes in volumes. Im not restricted to just using colour, or black & white: but I do find colour a difficult individual to deal, at times. Black and white gets past the obstacles of colour. To me black and white is less distracting and allows the soul of the image to be revealed in a way that colour cannot achieve. It allows the image’s soul to speak unhindered by colour. This is not in every case, and so, I’ll revert to using colour; but only when necessary.
8 Responses to “City Focus : Sydney by Sean O’Brien”

  1. sedge808 April 14, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Congratulations Sean.
    Fantastic collection.
    Like the bridge shot the most, but all good.
    Gav.

    • Sean O'Brien April 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you Gavin

  2. Marie Noëlle Taine April 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    The first one is superb !

    • Sean O'Brien April 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you Marie

  3. jtinseoul April 15, 2012 at 4:24 am #

    Agree with the above. I really dig the first shot. Nice work Sean!

    • Sean || Hewlbane April 15, 2012 at 5:11 am #

      Thank you Josh

  4. elzopi September 8, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    wonderful stuff; love your aesthetic sense

    • Hewlbane // Sean November 18, 2012 at 9:32 am #

      Thank you elzopi

Leave a Reply

