Travis Barton – Denver Colorado

1 Mar
1) Where do you shoot?
I shoot primarily in Downtown Denver, CO. I work a full time job and so I have to use whatever time before or after work and during the weekends to get my shooting done. I often shoot up to 100 images a day, if not more. I’ve recently discovered that saturday is a far better day to shoot than sunday, because the people are out and about more and ready for a night on the town, so the energy is most electric.
2) What do you shoot with?
I use a Panasonic GH1, typically with a Canon 75-300mm telephoto lens. Occasionally I’ll shoot with a Tokina 28mm or Mamiya 50mm. I love the GH1 because it can use nearly any lens from any make model or generation, with the simple purchase of an adapter. Plus its video quality is gorgeous (One of the only camera’s on the market in its price range that can shoot 24 fps at 1080p, a hollywood standard), which is a plus, since I plan on making a film someday.
3) Photographic influences ?
My biggest influence in photography has easily got to be Weegee. I love the bizarre, dark, disturbing nature of his work. I like work that makes me have an instant emotional response. My other biggest influence in photography is Joel Peter Witkin, now although he may not be a street photographer, I love his work. There’s also a guy on Flickr I’ve recently discovered whose stuff is really great, I don’t know his name but he goes by Urban Exposure CPL. His style is great!
4) Why photography ?
Because music was starting to get boring. I’ve been writing and producing electronic music for about 15 years and I really wanted a new hobby. I’d always been interested in photography on at least the more basic levels, but when my roomate got a dark room and started collecting photography books, I started reading up on it more and decided to pursue it as a major hobby. I hope to some day get a couple of gallery showings and plan on starting work on a film this summer.

One Response to “Travis Barton – Denver Colorado”

  1. elzopi September 8, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    beautiful scenes, quite touching but also disquieting

Leave a Reply

