Gallery

Five Questions for Lost Muzak

10 Oct

1)How long have you been taking photos?
Since 2008.
Having gone through many phases of a typical photo hobbyist (tech fetishism, lens lust, flower macros, water drops, fake tilt shifts, lightpainting, hdr) only in 2011 I started to rethink the concept of photography.
In 2011 I read a lot about of photo theory (Barthes, Sontag, Kraus, Benjamin) and studied the masters (Strand, Kertez, Stieglitz, Shore, Struth, Demand, Bechers and many more) so I started to think of how I can use photography to create something.

2)Why do you take photos?
I regard taking photos as a constant visual and intellectual challenge. It is certainly not about capturing moments or documenting things but more or less to create something, to create a visual pleasure if you will.
That is why most of my photos are static and peopleless to some degree (people being only pictorial objects), my photos are experiments in composition and visual impact.

Main topics:

– Urban exploration which is actually more an adventure game than a photographic undertaking.

– Emptiness and subtlety: these are my actual photographic exercises.
3)What’s your favourite camera?
My Mamiya 645 pro. The switch to film enabled me for the first time to focus 100% on image taking. It may sound funny but with film I finally can get the image quality I ever wanted.
I used a Nikon D90 before and was always disappointed coming home and realizing that most of the images had massive dynamic range problems, CAs, blooming, wrong gradients and so on.
Especially with Kodak Portra 160 I almost always can capture the exact image I want to have, without the need of digital postprocessing.
So it is actually more about film than about camera, as pretty much any film camera with a decent lens will do.
4)Favourite Location?
Derelict, abandoned industrial sites (I love tubes, machinery, big empty halls) and urban city ghettos, preferably modern, made of concrete.
5)Favourite Lens?
Preferably a standard 50 mm 35mm equivalent, so my 80mm sekkor 2.8 is perfect.

Sometimes a light wide angle might become necessary, that’s where my sekkor 55mm 2.8 comes in.

Leave a Reply

