5 Questions for Patrick Joust

14 Jul

1) How long have you been taking photos?

I first started dabbling in photography in 2002/03 when I bought a Canonet QL17 and a Yashica Electro GSN. At the time, I didn’t really know what a rangefinder was, but I found myself really liking the Canonet in particular and used it for several years. I’d say though that it wasn’t until 2007/2008 that photography started to become a major part of my life. It was four years ago that I discovered medium format photography and while I also shoot a lot of 35mm, instant, and some digital, it has been the possibilities of medium format film that has gotten me especially excited about making photographs.

2) Why do you take photos ?

At the beginning I took up photography largely because it seemed like an accessible way for me to explore my surroundings in a somewhat “artistic” way. I had some interest in writing and poetry, but I wasn’t much of a writer or poet. While I don’t think taking a good picture is necessarily easy much of the time, it’s certainly more accessible and, in some ways, more liberating than expressing myself through written language alone. Over time photography has become an important need in my life. I actually get a little depressed, after a couple of weeks, if I haven’t taken any photos. I think this is because it not only fulfills my need to be creative but it has provided a means by which I can engage with my surroundings and community. While I certainly shoot with the objective of getting a physical product, the process is almost enough alone to keep me interested. Since taking up photography I find myself seeing the world in more detail and with greater appreciation.  That’s a state of being that I enjoy chasing.

3) What’s your favourite camera?

That’s a tough one… if I had to choose just one, I guess it would be my Super Ricohflex. It’s not the best camera I own, but it was my first medium format camera (bought for just 25 dollars).  Even though I have fancier cameras now, it still gets a lot of use because of its simple, small design and its impressive performance.

4) Favourite location?

Baltimore.

5) Favourite lens?

That’s a tough one too… I really like the 40mm focal length which I first experienced on the Canonet. I’ve had the Cosina Voigtlander 40mm Nokton for a couple of years now, which I use on my M3, so if I have to pick just one, that would be it.

 

2 Responses to “5 Questions for Patrick Joust”

  1. sedge808 July 15, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    all good, but I like the snow one best.

  2. elzopi September 8, 2012 at 6:18 am #

    very strong images, love the tones and contrasting light in these

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,199 other followers

